Lighting for the wargames table

New lights 5

Just like a stage production or movie, you need  good lighting too really bring a wargames table to life. Up till now my study’s lighting hasn’t really cut the mustard. But this week I’ve installed a new LED light suspended low from the ceiling, right above the table.

New lights 6

The stage is set for war! As you can see, good lighting centres your attention on where the action is taking place.  Besides the new overhead lighting, I also still have my existing reading light, which I’ll be able to move around to highlight particular parts of the table.

New lights 8

Even during daylight hours, the extra lighting helps bring the scene to life.

New lights 2

From above, you can see how the table is evenly lit, and the colours really come to life.

New lights 1

By the way, my table is currently set up for samurai warfare. The terrain includes my latest MDF buildings (centre and right above): two 4Ground ‘Jwar Isle’ hovels specially designed for GCT Studio’s Bushido rules – though I don’t play these rules myself.

New lights 3

One thing to note about these two buildings is that they are slightly over-scale against my other 4Ground and Plastcraft buildings, as the Bushido range is designed to fit with their 32mm figures rather than the 28mm Perry Miniatures figures shown here. But other than the large doors, these houses still work OK.

New lights 7

A bucolic scene as life goes on under the bright Japanese sun … er … under my new light.

3 thoughts on “Lighting for the wargames table

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.