Review of ‘The Waikato River Gunboats’

production_cover.108194352_small

Previously I posted about a new book on the gunboats used during the invasion of the Waikato in 1863.  I received my copy of this book the other day.  And I’ve got to say it is even better than I expected.

The story is well-told and very readable and gripping.  It describes how the small flotilla of converted and purpose-built ironclad gunboats supported the invasion of the Waikato in 1863.

The story brings to mind lots of intriguing wargaming scenarios, such as troop landings, assaults on fortifications, bombardments and Maori ambushes – not to mention battling against the mighty Waikato River itself, with its sunken forests and ever-shifting channels.

book_1_IMG_3175

The illustrations are stunning.  There are many contemporary paintings (some I’ve never seen before).  The very detailed drawings by Harry Duncan of the vessels themselves will be inspirational for those making model gunboats, whether for the New Zealand Wars or elsewhere.

  • Title: The Waikato River Gunboats
  • Author: Grant Middlemiss
  • Marine draughtsman: Harry Duncan
  • Cover painting: Andrew Burdan
  • Over 80 illustrations on 124 pages in B5 format
  • Website: www.waikatorivergunboats.com
  • $NZ35.00
  • Available by emailing the author: middlemissgrant@gmail.com or in New Zealand through PaperPlus stores.

Framed_print-small.108194956_large2

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Colonial New Zealand Wars

10 responses to “Review of ‘The Waikato River Gunboats’

  1. Thank youfor this review. I was actually not aware that they used gunboats during the Waikato Wars. That does give me some ideas for scenarios, too.

  2. Interesting. Will you be modelling one?

  3. Interesting, an aspect of NZ history I was not aware of! Cheers.

  4. Roger Strong

    I wonder if there is anything in the book about the ‘Gymnotus’ which is an interest of mine. Although not a gunboat as such, she was operating on the Waikato River from early 1864.

    • Hi Roger

      This Grant’s answer to your query:

      No I have not mentioned “Gymnotus” in my book as she was not a gunboat, but was on the rivers following up the advance of the troops. Her owner when in the Waikato was Ralf Simpson who operated all the military canteens, supplying liquor, food and every thing from a needle to an anchor. I am gathering information about her and Simpson. After the navy left in April 1864 ‘Gymnotus’ was the first civilian steamer to come to the new settlement of Cambridge in July/August 1864. I am keen to find out more about her. I understand there is one image of her (photo I think) but have yet to see a decent copy of it.

      • Roger Strong

        Happy to share what I have. I am planning an article on her. I have drawing of her and a copy of a painting but have never seen a photo at all. I have tried to find something about her possible origins in England as it was suggested in the article in the Maritime News (1975) that she might have originated in the UK canals but my enquiries drew a blank there. Richard Bach does seem to have been quite a clever engineer and in her time she was very modern. You can sometimes find information on her using the heading ‘Jim Notice’ which is obviously the name that people who were illiterate might use. How can we make contact?

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

