4Ground’s Middle Eastern house kit

t_IMG_3416

The sleepy oasis of Sheesh-ki-Baab is disturbed by the rumbling of engines as a French motorised column passes through.

Painting of vehicles for my WW2 colonial French army has paused whilst I’ve concentrated on starting some desert scenery for them to fight over. First project off the blocks has been this 4Ground wooden kit of a Middle Eastern dwelling.

t_IMG_3415

As with the 4Ground Japanese buildings that I’ve also built, this kit was an absolute joy to put together. The miniature engineering that goes into what appears on the outside a very simple building is surprisingly complex, but all the pieces fit superbly.

The front door and the trapdoor in the roof can open and shut.  The roof itself is removable so that figures can be placed inside the building.

The kit comes pre-coloured. The only thing I did was touch up some of the stones around the roof-line, and disguise the corner joints by painting any visible edges in matching colours.

The entire project took only a couple of hours max!

By the way, the palm-trees are cheap plastic cake decorations (!) from my previous Pirates project.

t_IMG_3418

6 thoughts on “4Ground’s Middle Eastern house kit

    1. There are some surprising points about the French in the desert. For example, I never knew the French fought the Aussies in Syria; nor that the French Foreign Legion fought itself (Vichy vs Free French components).

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.