A fearsome Māori haka from the colonial New Zealand Wars

Keeping up with the colonial New Zealand Wars theme of my recent postings, here’s a terrific version of the Māori haka taken from the 1980s movie Utu.

The scene shows a unit of kaupapa (government-side) Māori in the Armed Constabulary.  This unit is a bit later than my own New Zealand Wars armies, being from the 1860s/70s, rather than the 1840s.  But it is still great to get a feel of the haka as it would’ve been seen in the period, rather than on a modern rugby field!

The clip also gives good inspiration for the rugged campaign look to the uniforms (or part-uniforms, really).  See what I mean in these screenshots:

And here’s the original poster for the movie Utu:

2 thoughts on “A fearsome Māori haka from the colonial New Zealand Wars

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.