Lynden Hussars join the army of the Barryat of Lyndonia

IMG_2858_a

Looking somewhat Toytown-ish in their blue, yellow and red uniforms, a new regiment of hussars has just joined the army of my wargaming ‘imagi-nation’ (imaginary nation), the Barryat of Lyndonia.

After I bought these wonderful Minden Miniatures French hussars last year, I ummed and ahhed as to which French regiment to paint them as. Although my army is imaginary, I like each unit to match a real-life regiment from any of the warring nations of the mid-18th century.

s_IMG_4277

So, were they going to be France’s famous Bercheny Hussars? Or perhaps those cut-throat rogues, the Chasseurs de Fischer? I just couldn’t decide … until the decision was made for me when I found out that the French army had a hussar regiment named the Aspremont-Lynden Hussars. How could the Barryat of Lyndonia possibly not include this unit in its army?!

Lynden hussars 3

The standard French light-blue hussar uniform would look striking in my army, especially with the colourful yellow facings and red horse furniture.

IMG_2861_a

I painted the horses using oil paints, which give a lovely depth of colour, and a sheen that makes them look lifelike.

IMG_2860_a

The regiment consists of 24 troopers, two trumpeters, a standard-bearer (yes, I know hussars didn’t carry standards into battle, but this is an imaginary nation, remember!), and an officer. They’re not based for any particular set of wargaming rules.

IMG_2868_a

One problem was that I couldn’t find any information on the colour of the Lynden trumpeters’ uniforms. As French trumpeters often wore the livery of their regiment’s owner, I decided to paint them in yellow and red to mach the heraldic arms of the real-life Aspremont-Lynden family.   220px-Lynden_wapen.svgBy the way, in case you’re wondering, my imagi-nation is named after the Stanley Kubrick movie Barry Lyndon. And whilst the Barryat of Lyndonia might sound a weird name for a country, it’s no worse than the the real-life Banat of Temesvár,  part of the Austro-Hungarian empire!

IMG_2866_a

6 thoughts on “Lynden Hussars join the army of the Barryat of Lyndonia

  1. Fantastic, Roly! These guys really do look like they are galloping towards the foe. I also like your reasoning regarding the colours for the trumpeter…and the yellow standard just adds more to the asthetics! Well done and keep up the great work.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.