Japanese house – a blotz on the landscape?

IMG_5278

I guess I have to finally admit that I’m not really a wargamer, but a terrain enthusiast! The most enjoyment I get out of my hobby isn’t playing wargames, nor painting figures. It is making scenery. Not big messy projects like terrain boards, but small features to decorate the table, especially buildings.  I’m no scratch-builder, either. I prefer taking an existing kit and embellishing it.

And so it is with the project that has been entertaining me for the last few nights – building another model house to add to my burgeoning shogunate Japanese village. This MDF kit is from a British manufacturer I hadn’t tried before – Blotz (as in Buildings, Landscapes and Other ThingZ).

IMG_5280

Making this Japanese house kit felt quite familiar, as it uses many similar concepts to 4Ground’s kits, whose buildings form the major part of my Japanese terrain. For example, the walls from both companies are formed of a frame with inserted panels and separate inner walls.

However, unlike 4Ground, the Blotz kit isn’t pre-coloured, so it requires some painting.  I found this easier to do before breaking the pieces out of their sheets. The only parts that required some care were the interior walls, where you have to paint straight lines between the white and natural wood parts.

A particularly nice feature of this kit is that there is only one place where you can see any of the interlocking joins or tabs that so often mar otherwise attractive MDF models. And even this one visible join is on the inside, and so can’t be easily seen, especially when disguised with a little bit of paint.

18254645_1651652154864624_1365852515_n

The sliding doors work (though they are a bit tight). I glued some tracing paper onto the back of the frames. This looks really good from the outside, and adequate enough for the few times you’ll ever see the inside of the house.

Another feature that often gives away such kits is the use of teddy-bear fur for thatch. However, I find that if you slosh the finished thatch roof with heavy washes of watered down dark-coloured paints, then dry-brush it with lighter colours such as yellow and white, the fur ends up looking more like thatch … well, at least not so much like it came from a skinned teddy bear!

So there we have it, yet another Japanese house for my samurai games – if I ever get round to actually playing one!

IMG_5279

5 Comments

Filed under Blotz, Samurai, Terrain, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Japanese house – a blotz on the landscape?

  1. Vincent Cholewa

    My name is Roly and I am a terrain enthusiast. LOL

    Fab work, Roly. I wish my terrain looked half as good.

  2. Very nice results. Interesting to see (finally) a MDF model without any obvious fixing lugs or holes. Good idea to use tracing paper, looks very effective.

  3. Andy

    I’ve just been building two of these Blotz houses myself. I’m very impressed personally. I agree that the teddy bear fur needs some love to make it look like anything other than teddy bears.
    Agree with pretty much all your points in fact; the doors are a bit tight, but love the way most joins are hidden. If you get the similar smaller house they do then it has no joins showing at all.
    I’m going to nick your tracing paper idea!
    One thing I did wonder about was adding an interior partition to make two rooms but I haven’t decided how yet.

  4. Mark Strachan

    That is another great looking piece Roly. Like you I often find making the terrain the most satisfying part of the hobby and as you probably have noted I am in a bit of terrain blitz at present – even looking at a big messy terrain board project.

  5. Pingback: Work-in-progress on WW2 Dutch | DRESSING THE LINES

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

