Painted 28mm WW2 Dutch figures

IMG_4126

May 1940: a squad of Dutch infantry cautiously follow a Carden Loyd tankette into a war-torn village.

Yep, I’ve finally started painting my May ’40 Miniatures WW2 Dutch infantry at last!  (The Reiver Castings tankette, by the way, was covered in a previous posting).

IMG_4099

As I always find when photographing anything painted blue, the uniform colour in some of these pictures has come out a lot brighter than it is in reality.  The figures are actually a blueish-greenish-grey, rather than the bright light blue they appear in the photos above. The picture below is the most life-like depiction of the actual colour I painted them, though the photo itself is a little dull.

IMG_4141

The miniatures were sculpted by Michael Percy for Sander van der Ster, the owner of May ’40 Miniatures. Michael has made a good job of capturing the somewhat old-fashioned appearance of the Dutch infantry of this period. The figures are festooned with equipment, and wear the distinctive Dutch helmets.

IMG_4106

Posing is generally good, with all the sorts of stances you need for a ‘Bolt Action’ wargame. I glued the figures onto 25mm washers, and as you can see, the fit is good.

IMG_4119

I particularly like this Lewis gun crew (seen below). I wouldn’t fancy being the guy holding the stand, with the gun yammering away just beside my ear!

IMG_4094

So far I’ve painted just one section of 12 men and their NCO. I have two more sections to paint, along with a heavy machine gun team and a mortar. I also have one section of Dutch Marines, who will look distinctive in their dark blue jackets. And of course not to forget my medical team, who I’ll be painting up in memory of my father.

IMG_4137

Following that, once May ’40 Miniatures launches their Landsverk armoured car and Böhler anti-tank gun, I’ll be adding these to my army of course. And, then, who knows – motorcycle-mounted machine guns, cyclists???

If you are interested to know more about May ’40 Miniatures, check out their website or their FaceBook page.

16681677_1379017905506372_4304133326722232703_n

4 Comments

Filed under May 40, Reiver Castings, Uncategorized, WW2

4 responses to “Painted 28mm WW2 Dutch figures

  1. Scott bowman

    Nice stuff Roly. quite well timed too with the imminent release of sealion for the similar period… should be lots of blitzkrieg Germans about to entertain your Dutch

    • True, Scott. And I even have some Dad’s Army to paint up for that Sea Lion supplement … also, coincidentally, my diecast ‘Jones the Butcher’ van arrived by courier today!

  2. Norm

    Very nice. You may already know this, but the problems you are having with blue on your camera are to do with your ‘white balance’ settings.

  3. Pingback: Work-in-progress on WW2 Dutch | DRESSING THE LINES

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

