Update on New Zealand Gallipoli diorama project

newstyle header 2

UPDATE 31 Jan: The official blog for this project, Mustering the Troops, has now gone live!

Just letting Kiwi wargamers/painters know that Mustering the Troops, the dedicated blog for the New Zealand Gallipoli painting project, will be launched by the weekend.   This project is part of New Zealand’s WW100 commemorations.

Once the new blog is up, you’ll find the email addresses of the local ‘points-of-contact’ throughout the country.  These are the people you can contact if you’re interested in taking part.  So please don’t comment here to say you’re interested – wait for the official blog.

This afternoon I was lucky enough to hold in my hands some of the first batch of figures to arrive in the country.  They are quite simply impressive.  The animation is amazing, and is very specific to the story being told in the diorama, so expect some interesting poses.

Also, the Perry twins have posted about the project on their own FaceBook page – go there to see some wonderful greens.

Below are a couple of pics that’ll be on the Mustering the Troops blog.  Again, this official blog should be up by the weekend.  I’ll announce here when it is launched, so keep watching.

kiwi1

turk1

21 Comments

Filed under Perry Miniatures, WW1

21 responses to “Update on New Zealand Gallipoli diorama project

  1. This really is a very exciting development. I have no experience painting figures – my model-making career, thirty-odd years ago, revolved around the products of Messrs Hasegawa, Italieri, Tamiya and Airfix. But I’ll be with you in spirit…

  2. It is a bit of a shame that his it Kiwis only. Would love to take part, but I am in Germany, so that is not going to happen! 😦

  3. Rob Barnes

    If there’s any chance of a Brit getting involved drop me a line and I’ll be more than happy to volunteer.

  4. Nick Booth

    Living in Auckland and would love to contribute to this project, how do I get involved?

    • Hi Nick. This blog is pre-information only. The special blog where you’ll be able to find out who is coordinating the painting in your local area is due to go live this weekend. So keep watching here, as I’ll announce the new blog when it goes live.

  5. Pingback: Sir Peter Jackson needs Kiwi wargamers | DRESSING THE LINES

  6. Anonymous

    Wow! This sounds amazing, I would love to be part of it. I’m a huge fan of the Perry twins miniatures, and of Peter Jackson films. bit alas don’t belong to any club so that’s me out. But I cant wait to see the final product.

    • Club membership isn’t necessarily a prerequisite. Keep an eye out for the dedicated blog this weekend, then get in touch with your listed local contact person to see how they’re doing this project in your patch …

  7. jimboba

    I remember seeing a photo of some greens of Anzacs by the Perrys years and years ago – and I think the article mentioned they were privately commissioned for Peter Jackson – this must be where it was all heading. Brilliant. I wish I was a Kiwi so I could help out.

    By the way, the greens were jaw-droppingly excellent.

  8. Hi fellows,
    I’m a Wellington-based (hobby)miniature painter, mostly painting fantasy figs and building terrain. I am not affiliated to any wargaming club, and would love to get involved in this diorama project.
    Cheers
    art-de-vivre

  9. I would be keen to paint some of these! I am in Tauranga so hope there is a local contact here, or I would be happy to be that contact. See my BLOG for some of the Warhammer Empire models I have painted recently.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

