My colonial NZ Wars article in ‘Wargame Bloggers Quarterly’

WBQ_Cover

Issue 2 of the new e-zine Wargame Bloggers Quarterly has just come out. And I’m excited to see it includes an article I submitted about my colonial New Zealand Wars project.

Wargame Bloggers Quarterly is a free community driven electronic magazine “composed of the best wargames and miniature painting content from the collective blogosphere”. So I felt honoured to have my article chosen to join such select company.

WBQ_NPOA

My article is entitled Ngā Pakanga O Aotearoa, which was one of the Māori names for the colonial New Zealand Wars, and translates simply as “the New Zealand Wars”.

The e-zine’s designer has chosen to publish some of my photos in black-and-white to give the feel of an olden-days newspaper. While this looks great and certainly adds atmosphere, I was quietly relieved to see that in the second half the photos return to full and glorious colour.

WBQ_NPOA_col

Frequenters of this blog may recognise some of the content and photographs in the article. This is because the whole intent of Wargame Bloggers Quarterly is to preserve the content of wargaming blogs.  As the Editorial Panel says:

Blogs are by nature transitory and the life of each piece of content in the limelight short-lived. Even the best of that content fades into the past and may well become lost over time despite the power of search engines. By publishing the best content in WBQ we can hopefully forestall that loss and make sure this wonderful and interesting material stays in circulation for the benefit of everyone in the community.

Besides my article, there’s loads of other lavishly illustrated content in this issue. Coincidentally, and unbeknownst to each of us, it includes an article by my good wargaming friend, Scott Bowman, on an amazing terrain piece he built to game Durin’s Causeway in The Hobbit.

So head on over to Wargame Bloggers Quarterly. You can click on any of the pictures in this posting, or on this link, to download the e-zine.

WBQ-Dice

 

 

12 Comments

Filed under Colonial New Zealand Wars, Empress Miniatures, Perry Miniatures

12 responses to “My colonial NZ Wars article in ‘Wargame Bloggers Quarterly’

  1. Congratulations – and excellent news! Too right that blog content vanishes…and great to have it perpetuated in a more permanent way.

  2. Congratulations! I checked the article out and it really came out nicely! The mixture of black and white and colour does give it a nice touch and the professional layout lets it shine even more.

    • Yes, I thought they did a terrific job of the layout and design. In fact, I think WBQ beats all the paper magazines in ‘look and feel’. Simple, yet interesting.

  3. That was a great article. Well done.

  4. Eric VEITL

    Congratulations Roly

  5. I was thrilled to see this article in issue 2, such a inspiration to me personal – well done Roly.

  6. Lovely article Roly, well presented indeed. And thanks for the mention, rather cool we both made it into the same edition! Pressure is on now to do something good enough for the next one! 😉

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

