The secret of black undercoating

IMG_3366_a

I have used black undercoat on my figures for years. But I often read that people don’t like black undercoats because they make it hard to:

  • see the details you’re painting
  • paint bright colours on top of the black undercoat.

I have neither problem, but that is because of a ‘secret’ step I add to the process, which I’m now about to spill the beans on …

pa battle 2

I’m currently working on some Perry Miniatures British infantry for my 1860s New Zealand Wars project.  My aim is that the finished figures will be coloured as per the above painting from of the The Waikato War Driving Tour website.  But before I get anywhere near that stage, I have to undercoat the figures.

IMG_3358_a

As mentioned in my previous post, I start by spraying the figures with black automotive primer.  This makes the figures a deep coal black, which if I left it at that, would indeed have the two disadvantages I listed at the start.  In fact, the lighting in my photo above has brightened the black, making it is easier to see the detail than in real life.

IMG_3362_a

Now comes the secret step.  Once the black is completely dry, I lightly dry-brush it with a medium grey acrylic paint.  This highlights all the details, making them much easier to pick out.  And because the grey has lightened the black, it also makes it easier to paint bright colours over the top.

In the above picture, the figure on the left has had this treatment, whilst the one on the right hasn’t (and also looks brighter in this photo than it does in real life).

IMG_3370_a

These officers have both had the grey dry-brush treatment.   As you can see, the intricate frogging now really stands out.  In fact as this frogging will be black, if I can carefully paint the dark blue uniform colour between the cords, I won’t have to paint the frogging at all, because the grey has perfectly highlighted the black.  The same applies to boots, cartridge boxes, scabbards or anything else that needs to stay black.

So there it is.  Add a quick grey dry-brush, and you solve any problems that a  jet black undercoat might cause.  And it’s actually a very enjoyable part of the painting process as the figures really ‘pop’ when you apply the grey.

If you’re interested to see how these figures turn our, keep watching this blog …

 

19 Comments

Filed under Colonial New Zealand Wars, Perry Miniatures

19 responses to “The secret of black undercoating

  1. Jeff Hudelson

    I have used a similar technique for years (only I use white instead of light grey) only I use more of a “damp-brush” for greater contrast.

    One of the things that people need to keep in mind is that most paints are NOT opaque but translucent instead . . . so a bonus of using black primer with a white or grey dry brush is that when you paint over them there already is some natural shading.

    Indeed I have long used this technique to quickly paint horses. After I have done my white “damp-brush” (and let it dry, of course), I use various “horse colors to damp-brush over the black/white horse. Once this is dry the horse is a mix of black, white and horse colors.

    Then I use a brown stain over it to smooth things out and each horse has a nice mix of shades (and each is different). At this point you can then paint saddle blankets, etc..

    — Jeff

    • Thanks for those tips, Jeff. I agree the black undercoat gives you a ‘free’ level of shading before you even begin to paint!

      For my horses, I use the rubbed off oil-paint technique. Works a treat, and can look really lifelike.

  2. Karl Lowthian

    I have used similar, what I tend to have done recently is more of a black wash than full undercoat but it achieves very much the same effect

    they are rather nice figures.

  3. This is a great addition to those of us that like to prime black. Thank you

  4. I’m a dedicated black undercoat chap and will have to give this a go.

  5. Interesting, very similar to what I typically do, which I did a recent post on here: http://chasseuracheval.blogspot.co.nz/2014/10/how-i-paint.html
    I agree a black undercoat is often a great way to proceed, I’m even going to use it on my Austrians…

  6. Roly I too am an advocate of the black undercoat and have been for three decades. Although I shade heavily with washes, the black undercoat is still the best way, for me at least, to get depth.

  7. Pingback: A study in blue – British for the colonial NZ Wars | DRESSING THE LINES

  8. I was wondering — what is the brand of the primer you use, and where do you get it from?

    Also, have you considered/experimented with lightly spraying from above with light grey/white, rather than drybrushing? I’ve seen some people advocating this approach.

    • Jeff Hudelson

      As for brand, I generally just use an inexpensive “house brand” of black primer. I don’t know what Roly uses

      As for using a white/grey spray paint from above, I wouldn’t do it myself. The purpose of the white dry or damp brush is to highlight the raised and/or flat areas while leaving recessed areas in black . . . spray painting would negate this.

      — Jeff

      • Right — I wondered, since popping into SuperCheapAuto, for example, most car primers seemed to be gloss. 🙂

        • Jeff Hudelson

          I’ve always used a “flat black” primer . . . never used (or wanted to use) gloss.

          — Jeff

          • Hence my question about brands and sources. 🙂

            I guess I’ll pop into Repco, and see what they have — luckily, I’m probably old enough that they won’t be worried that I’m buying it for tagging. 😉

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

