Settlers, samurai, a standard and a Shorland

IMG_3045[1]

It’s been fairly quiet on the gaming front at the moment, but not entirely without some output.  I’m working on some Empress Miniatures figures from their colonial New Zealand Wars range, including these four colonists defending their homestead, and the three gunners to man a Maori cannon.

I also have the last banner-man for my Kingsford Miniatures Japanese samurai to find a suitable flag design for.  Something nondescript, as he is not really required for either of my samurai clan armies, so will be just a decorative figure.

The Napoleonic British standard bearer in the background is a Warlord figure that came with a set of Black Powder rules.  He comes with a cast-on flag, which (like the samurai flag) has been quite a challenge to paint, because I’m more used to GMB Design’s exquisite printed paper flags.

Finally, I recently dug out a miniature resin model of a Dutch police Shorland armoured car, which I made a decade or so ago in my previous hobby of collecting model police vehicles (before I became a wargamer). From memory, the manufacturer was called something like Transports of Delight.  I can’t see any particular gaming purpose for this model, but I just  love the shape of the Shorland, based as it was on the common-or-garden Landrover.

2 Comments

Filed under Colonial New Zealand Wars, Empress Miniatures, Kingsford Miniatures, Napoleonics, Police, Samurai, Warlord Games

2 responses to “Settlers, samurai, a standard and a Shorland

  1. Very cool. It’s amazing how the Landrover’s been adapted in so many different ways and by so many different people. I guess its ability to drive anywhere probably played a part. Could be worse – didn’t the “Rhodesian” government fit out a lot of 1964 Morris Oxfords with armour and use them as APC’s?

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

