‘Utu Redux’ – movie set in the colonial New Zealand Wars

Has anyone seen the restored movie Utu Redux yet?  This movie is a remaster of the 1983 movie set during the colonial New Zealand Wars.  It’ll be interesting to see how it compares against the original movie.

 In 1983 director Geoff Murphy stormed out of the scrub of the nascent Kiwi film industry with a quadruple-barreled shotgun take on the great NZ colonial epic. The New Zealand wars-set tale of a Māori leader (Anzac Wallace) and his bloody path to redress ‘imbalance’ …

This 2013 redux — led by cinematographer Graeme Cowley, with Murphy and editor Mike Horton — is Utu “enhanced and restored”.

I hope the redux includes what I think is one of the most amazing haka ever filmed:

Here’s some more info on the movie:

utu redux poster

2 Comments

Filed under Colonial New Zealand Wars, Movies

2 responses to “‘Utu Redux’ – movie set in the colonial New Zealand Wars

  1. I haven’t seen the new edition yet, but I saw the original on first release – it was filmed around my home district in Hawke’s Bay. Definitely a starter for the reconstructed edition, and I’ve heard it’s even better, not least because of the improved visuals.

  2. Thanks for linking to my review! I’m pretty certain that stirring Haka is still there, you are very right about how incredible that particular performance is. I’d love to see more feature films tackle mid 19th century New Zealand history but local features are always a struggle to fund, let alone full on costume dramas.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

