Test run painting a 28mm Kingsford samurai

sam_ptd_426_A

I’ve had a great deal of trepidation in painting my first-ever samurai figure.  But I finally broke the ice last night and painted one of my Kingsford 28mm samurai warriors.

I based the colour-scheme on an Angus McBride plate in the Osprey book ‘The Samurai’.  The plate portrays an unnamed samurai in c1553.  The Kingsford figure is clothed and armoured almost the same as the samurai in the book, so I suspect they may both have used the same source.

sam_ptd_515

He is wearing a do-maru (the armour wrapped around his torso) laced in iro-iro-odoshi (a pattern of lacing in horizontal rows of 3 or 4 alternating colours).  On his head is a kabuto (helmet) with a huge mittsu-kuwagata (triple horn crest).   [See, who says playing with toy soldiers isn’t educational?  I’ve had to start learning a whole new language!] 

Painting the intricate silk lacing was quite a challenge.  I used an almost dry brush to pick out the well-sculpted threads.  While the result doesn’t bear too close scrutiny, the overall effect has (I think) worked quite well.

The base has so far only been covered in sand. I still have to add some touches of vegetation.

It was enjoyable and relaxing to paint an individual figure for a change, rather than a few – or a lot – of figures in a single  batch.  It reminded me of my previously most enjoyable painting project: my pirates.  Painting unique figures one by one prevents the boredom that can creep in when doing batches of similarly clothed figures.

Anyway, the samurai project has now well and truly started.  I’m not expecting it to proceed at a very fast pace –  just enough for me to really enjoy it.

sam_ptd_405

10 Comments

Filed under Kingsford Miniatures, Samurai

10 responses to “Test run painting a 28mm Kingsford samurai

  1. Jeff Hudelson

    I think that he looks very good, sir. Well done!

    — Jeff

  2. Hi looks the business Roly. Love that tree too.

  3. Anonymous

    Very nice work, you’ve really done justice to the detail on the figure. How many more to go?

    • Thanks for that comment. At this stage, I’ve about two dozen more of these figures to paint, which will give me two samurai/ashigaru ‘buntai’ (or groups) to use in wargaming using skirmish rules such as ‘Ronin’.

  4. Lovely pictures and paintjob!

  5. Thanks, Phil. I too quite like the way the pictures came out, even though the midday sun gave them a bit too much contrast.

  6. where did you find the tree?

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

