Wow – new New Zealand Wars goodness from Empress!

Ka pai! Ngā mihi!  Empress Miniatures have released some more figures for their 28mm New Zealand Wars range, and, boy, are they beauties!

NZ171_zps03397274

Here’s a Maori carronade.  I love the way it even includes the block and tackle.

NZ16_zps80a8e1fc

And this is a set of desperate farmers defending their homestead.  The facial expression on the girl firing the pistol is terrific.   I can see lots of uses for these figures in many settings.

Fantastic stuff!  I’ll have an order flying down the wires to Empress by the end of this evening! They’ll nicely complement my existing New Zealand Wars forces, some of which are pictured below.

Maori_taua_2_0814

d_brits_P1010067

small-maori attack front house

12 Comments

Filed under Colonial New Zealand Wars, Empress Miniatures

12 responses to “Wow – new New Zealand Wars goodness from Empress!

  1. Oh wow, those really are beauties! That Maori carronade with crew is particularly stunning. Timely considering that the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Meremere is coming up this October, and a notable event of that battle was the Maori use of ships cannons to fire on the British flotilla.

    That said, I swear that the carronade is modeled on the surviving example at Ruapekapeka – as used by Maori during the Northern War.

    I haven’t collected miniatures since my teens, and I can scarcely afford to start yet another collection but damn it, after seeing these pictures I’m seriously tempted!

  2. Oh wonderful! I have rather neglected this corner of my hobby and really need to get back on track with it; great spot Roly.

  3. Same here, Michael – I haven’t done any more since the last release by Empress. I’ve already ordered these new figures this evening.

  4. These are seriously cool! And like Lemuel, they tempt me to get back into model-making! The carronade is interesting – we forget that the ‘musket wars’ included an ‘arms race’ between iwi for heavy artillery – much of which was still available a generation later when the New Zealand Wars broke out. They were used at Ohaewai and other places. The problem Maori had was these weapons were usually obsolete by then, and they couldn’t get adequate munitions for them.

  5. Pingback: Samurai and Maori, and a dash of compendium | DRESSING THE LINES

  6. Well, I’m really glad you commissioned them! Any other NZ Wars commissions in the pipeline???? Acually, I guess the real question is what is now still missing for this range …

  7. Pingback: That was the year that was | DRESSING THE LINES

  8. Pingback: Māori war-party for ‘The Men Who Would be King’ | DRESSING THE LINES

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

