Another Samurai musing

In my posting the other day musing about samurai miniatures, I forgot to mention a certain maker.  I  need to now mention them, as I am becoming increasingly interested in their range.  The maker concerned is Kingsford Miniatures from Canada.

maker_kingsford_samurai

Here are three of their samurai figures.  Every review I’ve read about these figures on the internet is very good.  And they tick many of my boxes:

  • At more like 30+mm, they’re tall and hefty figures (which to me is what skirmish-gaming  samurai should be).
  • The faces actually look oriental and filled with character – they also look big enough to paint well.
  • The lacing on the armour looks well-defined enough for easy picking out with a paintbrush (difficulty in painting the lacing is a criticism of some other ranges).

maker_kingsford_ashigaru

And here are some of their ashigaru figures.  Again, very characterful.  They remind me a little of the style of Empress Miniatures (whose New Zealand Wars figures are some of my all-time favourites).

While the posing and proportions may not be quite as life-like as Perry figures in particular, there is something indefinable I really like about this range.   And it was helped when I sent an email to them last night to ask some questions, and got a very pleasant and chatty reply.

So, I’m very tempted …  but those other ranges still all look juicy too!

4 Comments

Filed under Figures, Kingsford Miniatures, Samurai

4 responses to “Another Samurai musing

  1. Samuraii?!

    I’m in!

    …always fancied building a Japanese village….

  2. I can’t see you stopping at just a wee village, Colonel. You’d have a nine-story Japanese castle as a minimum (and probably a steam-powered walking one at that!).

  3. briansmaller

    Everyone makes Sengoku-Jidai period samurai. I have heaps of them from a lot of manufacturers – including a lot of the old Nippon figures from Citadel/GW. What I would like to see is more earlier samurai – liek the Genpei War era or the Mongol Invasion..

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

