My dynamic blogroll has died – what can I do?

Update 8 July 2013:   Aha, got it!  I found a reader called InoReader.  It allows you to group your subscribed blogs into a ‘public’ folder, then gives you the feed URL for that folder.  I then just dropped that URL into the RSS widget on my WordPress blog, and hey presto, a dynamic blogroll!  You can see it at the bottom of the sidebar on the right.

Can any WordPress experts help me restore the dynamic blogroll I used to have in the sidebar of this blog?

With the old Google Reader, I used to be able to get the WordPress RSS widget in the sidebar of this blog to show the ten latest postings of the various blogs I subscribed to.  This list updated itself dynamically, and showed the title, first paragraph and author of any new postings on those blogs. 

However, since Google Reader went down the gurgler earlier this month, I haven’t been able to replicate the same functionality on my blog.

I have started a Feedly account, because people seem to be saying that it is the best alternative reader to Google Reader.  But I can’t figure out how to get the WordPress RSS widget to work with Feedly to show my favourite blogs’ updates in the same dynamic way as I had previously done with Google Reader.

So, for the moment I have hidden the RSS feed in my sidebar, and just have a static list of links to blogs I follow.  But if anyone knows what I can do to have a much more dynamic blogroll again, I’d be really appreciative.  

1 Comment

Filed under About this blog

One response to “My dynamic blogroll has died – what can I do?

  1. Pingback: Solution to my dynamic blogroll having died. | DRESSING THE LINES

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

