Well, here we go! [revisited three years later]

It is just over three years since I started this Dressing the Lines blog, and above is my first post. I wonder how I’m going with achieving the objectives I set myself in that first post?  

 
I said at the time that my objectives were to have:

  • eye-candy pictures, but not sacrificing quality for quantity
  • pictures big enough to get the full effect, not little thumbnails
  • a wide range of topics
  • interesting and breezy writing
  • not too many spelling errors or typos (can’t promise on that one though – my typing fingers are faster than my brain, and I’m a hopeless proof-reader!)
  • pointers to sites and videos of interest that I might find during my browsing
  • occasional book reviews
  • relatively frequent updates (I’m hoping for every week or so, but we’ll see!) 
  • a clean-looking blog (and no dark background – a pet peeve of mine)
  • no bare lists of figures I’ve painted that week (boring!).

So what do you think?  Mission accomplished, or not?

DRESSING THE LINES

After having followed many blogs, I’ve finally decided it is about time I started one myself.   I’ve built and maintained quite a few websites in the past (you can see them listed in the sidebar on the right), but blogging is a whole new experience for me.  So bear with me if I make a few mistakes a while I learn to blog by trial and error!

I’ve built up a list of likes and dislikes about blogs in my years of lurking.  Hopefully I’ll be able to make this blog feature what I consider as the highlights of my favourite blogs.  These include:

  • eye-candy pictures, but not sacrificing quality for quantity
  • pictures big enough to get the full effect, not little thumbnails
  • a wide range of topics
  • interesting and breezy writing
  • not too many spelling errors or typos (can’t promise on that one though – my typing fingers are faster than…

View original post 215 more words

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Well, here we go! [revisited three years later]

  1. I think you have made some pretty solid output Roly.

    The only issue I have is not the content, but the format – I have found blogger blogs far easier to interact with (both in following and in commenting upon, than wordpress ones….)

    Other than yours and Nates (Natholeon), I just dont bother with WordPress ones, just too hard to follow and comment on…

  2. That’s intriguing, Scott. What are the differences? It may just be the way I’ve arranged the page etc.

  3. My 5 cents …

    I think that Scott’s problem may be that he has a Blogger account and not a WordPress one so that his system links easier. As a WordPress user I have the opposite problem in that I have never had a problem with WordPress blogs but can have problems with blogger ones. Such is the wonderful world of computing where it’s great to interact with the opposition … to a point! 8O)

    Just a theory.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    • Yeah, well said Pete, I think thats it exactly…
      I do find wordpress laborious to enter a comments as I have to provide an email address, name and website each time… its a lot to type in! And of course, since its the opposition – theres no blogger icon to log in with…

      Nor is there a simple follower widget on wordpress (as there is on blogger). I can follow a wordpress blog but then I get direct emails about the posts, whereas on blogger, I log in when I wish , to see whos been saying what…

      Just little differences I guess, I just prefer the way blogger does it.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

