At last, a full-size Napoleonic French flag!

I’ve always wanted a full-size Napoleonic French flag for my study wall.  And now I’ve got one!

A few years ago I tried to get a full-size French Napoleonic standard flag made when I was on a business trip to Cambodia. The company were going to do 20 for a very reasonable price. But then they began mucking me round, and by the time I left the country a few weeks later, they hadn’t produced a thing, despite my $100.00 USD pre-payment. I never got the opportunity to return to Phnom Penh and follow up, so I had to flag (ha ha!) that project.

But recently on TMP a guy called ‘Jomini’ posted a link to a German company, Universal Handel 24, that advertises a huge range of historical military flags.   These are made of synthetic fibres with printed motifs, so are not the heavy embroidered cloth that real historical flags were made of.  This keeps the costs down (relatively speaking!).

I ordered one French flag at 49.99 Euros to see what they were like.  They quoted 8 Euros for postage from Germany to New Zealand. They took PayPal and credit cards, so payment was easy.

I chose the flag of the 85ème Régiment d’Infanterie de Ligne.  This is the unit that my son and I were part of during the 2005  reenactment of the Battle of Waterloo.

I am pleased with the result, which arrived in today’s mail.  The flag is printed on a heavy nylon-like material (a bit like a rain jacket).  The printing is simple and bold, but effective.  The design is on one side only, so you see a back-to-front image on the obverse.  So the flag is only suitable for wall display, not flying on a pole.  It has gold threads bordering all sides.  All in all, while not absolutely realistic, this flag gives exactly the effect I was after for my study.  It’ll also be a great backdrop for display games.

Here is the link to the Universal Handel 24 website: http://www.universalhandel24.de/standarten-und-regimentsfahnen/

4 Comments

Filed under Napoleonics

4 responses to “At last, a full-size Napoleonic French flag!

  1. Glad you got the flag you always wanted at last! I have a feeling the Camobodians ‘saw you coming’ as they say… I’ll keep this link as I could do with some flags for my own Gamesroom wall…

  2. Yep, they surely did see me coming, Scott. But I thought with a month in Cambodia, I had plenty of time to chivvy them along. But they were experts at non-delivery!

    But the work of this German company is exactly what I was after. You’ll love their huge British regimental standards, Scott.

  3. Oh, and I just noticed, Scott, they do something else that I KNOW will appeal to you particularly. Drum roll please! And then follow this link: http://www.universalhandel24.de/herr-der-ringe/

  4. Pingback: A real-life flagpole for Christmas | DRESSING THE LINES

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

