A haughty general officer of the Barryat of Lyndonia

Here’s a haughty general officer of the Barryat of Lyndonia, wearing the uniform of the Truchseß Dragoons (Minden Miniatures, 28mm).

This is a sneak preview of a project  I’ve been boxing along with in the background of my other painting over the last few months.  He is the first completed figure of a new fictitious unit for the army of the Barryat of Lyndonia, my 18th century  imagi-nation based on the movie Barry Lyndon.

As I’ve now completed infantry units based on all three British, Prussian and French infantry regiments that feature strongly in the movie, I’ve now turned my hand to cavalry.  While there are a few Prussian cavalrymen in the movie, they are basically in infantry uniforms with attached plumes, and don’t do anything for me.  So I decided to do a completely new unit, not from the movie at all.

I chose to loosely base my first cavalry unit for the Barryat of Lyndonia on the real-life Prussian Truchseß regiment of dragoons.  Why?  Because when I met my wife back in the 80s, pink and light-blue were the ‘in’ colours – she not only wore (very attractively, I might add) pink and light-blue eye-shadow, but we painted our first house together with pink and light-blue trim.  Despite being well out of fashion now, I still have a fondness of that colour combination, so how could I resist a unit dressed in light-blue uniforms with pink facings?!

As this figure was originally a Minden Hanovarian officer, and not a Prussian at all, he is wearing his sash incorrectly across his shoulder for a Prussian (who wore them around the waist).  Even though with an imagi-nation army I’m not bound by accuracy, I decided to paint the sash as a military decoration ribbon instead – the orange ribbon of the Order of the Black Eagle.  With such an important decoration, he has been duly promoted to a general officer.

My Truchseß Dragoons will eventually have 24 figures, divided into two squadrons of 12.

Oh, by the way, the photos were taken on my phone.  While not as crisp and clear as a camera, they are certainly quite adequate enough for blog pictures, don’t you think?  The background is our front paddock, on the last day of an absolutely beautiful Easter weekend here in Paraparaumu.

5 Comments

Filed under Eighteenth century, Minden Miniatures, Movies

5 responses to “A haughty general officer of the Barryat of Lyndonia

  1. Jeff Hudelson

    He looks good . . . and I salute you for selecting some of your lady wife’s favorite colors.

    — Jeff

  2. Thanks, Jeff – we’ve always got to keep the other half happy!

  3. eric veitl

    Very nice Roly , very nice

  4. Rob

    I’ve also been fond of the Prussian pink regiments. Good choice – he looks quite splendid!

    Cell phone cameras are improving marvelously. They’re ideal for WIP project shots, since you can just snap a pic of the painting table. They’re probably also good for shots of games.

    I’ve found that if you’re taking a lot of pics, a camera is easier to get the photos to the computer and the increased functionality offered by even a cheap digital point and shoot really pays off.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

