‘Colonial New Zealand Wars’ book seeking good home

Over the weekend I bought a first edition Colonial New Zealand Wars book in an online auction at a very reasonable price.   I actually already own a copy of this book,  so I bought it purely to pass it on at cost to another enthusiast for the period, as I know it is usually quite hard to find at a reasonable price.


This is the classic book by Tim Ryan and Bill Parham that contains all the information that any wargamer would ever want  about the history, units and uniforms of the 19th century wars in New Zealand.

Please note that this is the first edition, which doesn’t contain the colour photos of reenactors that only appeared in the second edition.  But nevertheless it is an important source for gamers of this period.

I haven’t yet received the book from the seller, but it is said to be in good condition.

So, if you are interested to buy this book off me, please comment on this posting.  The cost of the book will be what I paid for it (only $NZ25!!!), plus any postage to get it to you.

Rather than making it first come, first serve (which I think is unfair to those on the wrong side of the time zone!), in a couple of days I’ll do a draw of those who have indicated in the comments to this posting that they are interested.

8 Comments

Filed under Books, Colonial New Zealand Wars

8 responses to “‘Colonial New Zealand Wars’ book seeking good home

  1. Thomas Mante

    Roly,

    Please put me down for the draw, fyi I am in the UK.

  2. Brian English

    Just got started in Maori Wars gaming, and have heard this is THE book to have! Please enter me in the drawing!

  3. Byron Champlin

    Roly:

    Please enter my name in the drawing. I’m in the U.S.
    Byron

  4. Rick Welch

    Please enter me in your drawing also.

    Rick

  5. Time now is 0600 (NZ). At 1800 (NZ) I’ll do the draw. So any other takers have to be in by then.

  6. Right – five entries:

    Thomas Mante
    Brian English
    Byron Champlin
    Rick Welch
    Armchairqb

    and the winner is (drum-roll) ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. Brian English!

    Brian, please contact me offline so we can organise payment and postage.

    Thanks for your interest, guys. I’ll keep my eyes peeled on TradeMe for further copies.

  7. Wow! I wish i’d seen your post earier.

    I have just checked out amazon and sadly it’s going for big bucks.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

