Minden French command

I’ve now completed six figures in my Minden Miniatures French battalion. The first drummer I painted a couple of months ago has now been joined by two more, plus I’ve painted an officer an NCO and a standard bearer.

As always, the 28mm Minden figures are a joy to paint.  The detail is so beautifully sculpted that it makes it very easy to pick out with a paint brush.  For example, much of the drummers’ lace was merely dry-brushed on. 

One thing I have changed with my painting style is to abandon painting in the eyes.  While in the close-up photo above this ommission stands out, seen in real-life these figures look a lot better without the large staring eyes my previous work is adorned with!

The flag is by my favourite miniature flag-maker, GMB Design.  Those of you who know their French regiments of the Seven Years War will no doubt be shaking your heads and saying, “But he’s got it wrong – that’s the flag of the Regiment de Flandre, and they wore blue facings, not red!”  Well, my reasoning for this is that I am actually not following the genuine French army of the period, but instead am modelling the regiments portrayed in the famous Stanley Kubrick film, Barry Lyndon (see a previous post about this project).  And in the movie, the French regiment that the epoynomous Barry Lyndon faces in battle is clothed in uniforms with red facings.  So there!

5 Comments

Filed under Eighteenth century, GMB Design flags, Minden Miniatures

5 responses to “Minden French command

  1. “One thing I have changed with my painting style is to abandon painting in the eyes.”

    vPh – I’m in agreement with this approach. As a bonus it also speeds up the painting!

    “While in the close-up photo above this ommission stands out, seen in real-life these figures look a lot better without the large staring eyes my previous work is adorned with!”

    vPh – the ommission doesn’t stand out for me in the photo.

    Salute
    von peter himself

  2. Hello

    Ditto, I dont find painting the eyes necessary at all. I’ve tried it only a few times and quite frankly, for me, it made no difference other than creeping me out a bit (Im sure they were following me). I’m not sure it saves me any time though as I’m a notoriously slow painter. I have taken a tip from Douglas Crouther and might put a deliberate small black dot in the eye socket, will try it and then make a judgement.

    As far as gut wrenching accuracy is concerned re flags and facings, they’re your figures paint em up however you damn well please.
    What is annoying, and I’ve mentioned this elsewhere, your now steaming ahead with your painting where as I’m now 1 step back after having to give one of my test pieces a swim in dettol, bugger!

    regards
    dave

  3. Der Alte Fritz

    I wouldn’t have noticed the facing and flag inaccuracy unless you had pointed them out, so I doubt that anyone else will notice either. They will be too distracted looking at your fine paint work and that excellent flag. Can’t wait to see the whole army one of these days.

  4. Pingback: Newly released trailer for ‘Barry Lyndon’ | DRESSING THE LINES

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

