Back home from the Middle East

I’m back home now from my work trip to the United Arab Emirates. I’m sitting shivering in wet, windy, wintery Wellington, with sizzling, sunny Dubai just the merest warm memory now.

I’m still slowly getting sorted back into my routine, so I haven’t yet had time to for the hobby.  I’m looking forward to getting into painting my Mindens again. The sole painted figure for my French battalion so far is a drummer (featured previously on my blog before I left for overseas), so he desperately needs some comrades. The rest of his battalion are all set to go, fully undercoated black and dry-brushed with grey.

Meanwhile, my painted but un-based British are lying in disarray in the display case, having fallen victim for the umpteenth time to my sleeve whilst taking out other figures (causing a domino effect). So I really have to sort out my final basing plan and get them based.

Also, I’m having my first game tonight since my return: a 28mm Napoleonic ‘Black Powder’  game at my pal Scott’s. Should be interesting to test these rules. We’re going to keep the game small, as we know we’ll be proceeding slowly whilst we leaf through the rule book to find things. And if we don’t finish tonight, we plan to carry on tomorrow. So hopefully we’ll get a game that really ends!

PS: You’ll see below right a new Facebook Like button. I’m experimenting with this to see if it is something I want to add to posts from now on to increase readership. If you like this blog or post, just click the button.

Like This!

3 Comments

Filed under Eighteenth century, Minden Miniatures, Napoleonics, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Back home from the Middle East

  1. Jeff Hudelson

    I look forward to reading your thoughts on these rules.

    — Jeff

  2. Scott and I had a very enjoyable start to our first ‘Black Powder’ game this evening. We played a few moves, and got a lot of things happening. We’ve left the game set up, and will continue it through the week.

    It did move quite slowly, as expected, because of continual looking though the book while we are still newbies to the rules. But we found things sped up as the evening progressed, because nothing is too complicated, so after reading a particular point, it sticks in your mind easily enough.

    Overall, we found this a very enjoyable set of rules. They were fun, elegant, moved quickly once you got the hang of them, and removed a lot of the pfaffing about that many other rules have. A telling comment from my friend was when he said “These might be the rules to get me back into Napoleonics”! … anyone who knows Scott would know this is a major statement!

  3. We’ve just finished our game this afternoon. We played with the rather drastic brigade and army morale rules, but they still provided an interesting end-game, as the losing army then had to think carefully about how to extricate itself. So for that player, the game still remained interesting, but just changed to having a different objective.

    All in all, we’re both delighted. We got faster and faster with the rules. Using the simple movement rules, interpenetration rules etc at first feels a little too advantageous to yourself, but it affects both armies, so it is swings and roundabouts. Knocking the complexity out for both sides means you just get on with the game rather than dickering around with complex but minor points.

    We didn’t use any special rules apart from British first fire, but nevertheless the game did feel Napoleonic enough. Next time we’ll add in some more of the advanced rules to make the game even more suited to the period, and will also use some sort of scenario to add a storyline.

    Our final conclusion of playing the rules is pretty much as we’ve thought from previously just reading the rules … a great set of rules for fun games with a period flavour (albeit with less detail) where you are not too concerned if you are the winner or loser; possibly not such a good set of rules for a more detailed period simulation (though, with tinkering, that could probably be changed); not a good set of rules for players for whom enjoyment revolves around winning, nor for use in tournaments.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

