Gaming drought in Dubai

Never fear, I haven’t abondoned this blog.  I’m still in the Middle East on business.  I won’t be back till next month, and then it will take another week or so before I’m back into my normal home routine again.

Sad to say, there is little here in Dubai of any wargaming interest.  Quite surprising really, with the amount of ex-patriates out here … you would’ve thought there could be at least a few gamers amongst them.

I thought I had struck gold at one stage, when I saw a “model and hobby shop” listed on a mall directory.  But when I got there, it was only those huge radio-control cars and planes … not one plastic kitset, let alone any model soldiers.

I did find a fort, that is now the Dubai Museum (see heading photo).  It contains a collection of old weapons and cannons, but nothing spectacular, and the labelling is very basic.

And I did come across a huge bookshop that had a large military section.  It is a Japanese chain (name escapes me) and is on the top  level of the Dubai Mall.  So at least if you are ever stuck in Dubai, whilst you probably won’t find a gaming shop or club, at least there is some good reading available. 

Note added 16 June: Only an hour or so after writing the above, I was browsing through a Dubai Time Out magazine, and lo and behold, I came across an ad for a wargaming meetup group in Dubai!  So I’ve joined up, and might even be able to attend their next meeting that they hold in a coffee shop in a local mall.  They play boardgames only, by the sound of it, but it’ll be interesting to see whether anyone here is into miniatures gaming as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

