Where it all happens …

Having finished, but not yet based, my Minden British infantry (see previous post), I have been in a bit of a hiatus until my next Minden order of French infantry arrives.  In the meantime, I’ve been working on some Perry plastic Napoleonic French cuirassiers, but they’ll be subject of a separate posting once they’re done.  So to fill in time until my next miniatures posting, here are some shots of the room in which it all of my painting takes place.  As usual on this blog, click on the photos to see them full-sized.

Picture of painting desk, bookshelf and computer desk.

My painting desk sits to the left, behind it my bookshelf chocabloc with military books. The replica Tiffany lamp, which was  presented to me by my family, gives out a lovely warm and atmospheric  light when I’m browsing on the computer.  And when I’m painting, the  standard lamp on the left gives me bright white illuminaton to work by.  As you can see, my study isn’t too tidy at the moment.  While I like to think of myself as a tidy person, I’m also a bit of a procrastinator!

Here’s a closer view of my painting station and computer desk.  On top of the bookshelf you can see my converted Disney ‘Black Pearl’ pirate ship, as well as a couple of British police helmets from my collection of police hats from all over the world.  In the top shelf is a replica French Napoleonic pokalem undress cap of the 85ème Régiment d’Infanterie de Ligne, and in the shelves below you can see the typical wargamer’s battery of Osprey and Funcken books.  And note the ‘faux’ bookshelf above my computer (which makes it look as though I am more academic than I am!).

The pictures above my painting station include a lovely old print of police uniforms of the world in 1880.  The drawing and the painting on the left are particularly precious to me, done by my father in the 1930s.  The two prints bottom right are old New Zealand scenes with redcoat soldiers in the landscapes, given to me by my sister-in-law.  In a problem common to many wargamers, my books are starting to overflow from my bookshelf and line the top of my display case.   

My favourite paints are the Foundry three-pot series, which are  jumbled in a box in my painting desk.  I often have trouble finding the right colour in the clutter!  A good thing about this painting station is that the desk closes and so hides the mess – all I have to do is put the brush/water jar in the back, line the works-in-progress on top of the desk, then shut the lid.  

Finally, here’s a sneak preview of those Perry cuirasssiers you’ve seen galloping across my painting desk. They’re not finished yet. And, as seems to happen in all my photos, the blue of their uniform jackets has come out much lighter in the photos than it actually is. As mentioned, I’ll post more fully on these guys once they’re completed.

4 Comments

Filed under General, Napoleonics, Perry Miniatures

4 responses to “Where it all happens …

  1. Jeff Hudelson

    Roly,

    I’ve enjoyed seeing your painted units for years . . . and now perhaps I can in a small way “pay you back”.

    One of the things that I do with my paints, since they sometimes dry a different shade than they look when wet . . . is to paint the top of each “jar” with its paint.

    This also makes it much easier to see from above when it is in something other than the front row. And where there is a label on top that I don’t want to obliterate, I just paint a ring around it.

    If this works for you (it certainly helps me . . . particularly when I’m trying to match something painted previously), you are welcome to use the idea.

    In any event, I still admire your lovely units (which put mine to shame).

    — Jeff in Canada

  2. VEITL

    I have so enjoyed visiting your ” private room ” it seemed for me being closer tou you and F.N.F.
    Exept your father ‘ s drawings and your polceman helmet your room looks like mine with same problems : where to put all books and magazines ?
    No french cuirrassiers on my table .I am painting a polish army of 1650 which should fight with cossacks that i have to paint .
    All the best Roly .
    PS : did you had time to look in your memory computor ?
    Regards
    Eric

  3. Wait a moment, I recognize that room! Yes I have been lucky enough to have been there and perused the figures, display cabinets, and see what is on the workbench, whilst enjoying a nice cuppa, as I see perched on the corner of your table 😉
    How did you get on with those French cav? Did you managed to get all the bits glued on?

  4. Thanks for the comments.

    Jeff: Good idea – I will give that a go. Amazing how often I lose a colour at the moment.

    Scott: I am saving up the bits that keep falling off the cuirassiers, and will do a mass re-gluing at the end of the project (I bought some superglue to try that out, seeing as the plastic glue has been such a dismal failure with so little surface area to hold on these bits). More about this problem when I do the posting here about the cuirassiers when they are finished ….

    Eric: I’ve just emailed you about the computer files.

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

