New housing estate in Little Japan

IMG_2921_a

My Japanese villagers are all abuzz as construction work moves ahead at a great pace in their village. The frames of two new 28mm buildings have recently appeared, one the start of a village rice barn, the other a peasant labourer’s dwelling.

These are both kits by 4Ground, to complement the two larger 4Ground houses and the Plastcraft Games temple I had already built.

IMG_2918_a

New fencing and gates have also been erected over the last couple of days. These again come from a 4Ground kit.  These are assembled by firstly gluing posts into the bases, then attaching rails to the posts, and finally gluing the boarded fronts onto the rails.  I came up with a couple of tricks:

  • Firstly, I textured the bases after I had attached he rails to the posts, but before the boarded fronts were glued on.  This saved having to do loads of very fiddly texturing under the boards.
  • Secondly, I painted a heavily-diluted wash of black acrylic paint between each board.  This was a tedious job, but I think the end result gives the fences more definition.

My only disappointment with this kit is that the gates don’t open or close (unlike the doors in the 4Ground buildings).  However, that is a very minor beef, and overall I love these fences and gates.

IMG_2924_a

This picture of the two latest buildings under construction show the clever way that these 4Ground kits are designed. You first assemble these frames. Then the pre-painted interior walls get glued to the inside, and small textured panels are glued on the outside into the spaces between the frames. Doors and windows go in, and the roof is added as a completely separate sub-assembly.  While this may all sound complex, in fact it’s a dead easy process.

I’m so impressed with these 4Ground kits.  They’re not only great-looking models when they’re finished, but they’re absolute fun to make.

I’m looking forward to their next products in this range.  Rumour has it that they intend to make a highland village and a river delta village (think stilts). The lowland and highland collection are also going to include houses for their local rural samurai.

IMG_2922_a

3 Comments

Filed under 4Ground, Perry Miniatures, Samurai, Terrain

3 responses to “New housing estate in Little Japan

  1. Eric VEITL

    So splendid

  2. Anonymous

    Looks like the tsunami reconstruction is ticking along at a great pace Roly. You’ll be ready for a Ronin game any day now.
    Love your work.
    That link to the website that does the cheap railway scenics etc has got me thinking. Im thinking about some livestock to populate my villages.

  3. Great work Roly, at the rate you are knocking these out, I may have to bit the bullet and see if they do some VSF stuff, to speed up my Victorian Build…

I hope I've given you something to think about - please do leave a comment with your thoughts or reactions.

